Focus and Scope

The Trumpeter is an environmental journal dedicated to the development of an ecosophy, or wisdom, born of ecological understanding and insight. As such, it serves the deep ecology movement’s commitment to critically explore and analyze environmental concerns in light of ecological developments at every relevant level: metaphysics, science, history, politics. Gaining a deeper understanding involves a comprehensive set of criteria that includes analytical rigour, spiritual insight, ethical integrity, and aesthetic appreciation.

The Trumpeter encourages the submission of high-quality scholarly research articles, poetry, essays, narratives, cartoons, and book reviews relevant to the interdisciplinary environmental humanities. This includes, but is not limited to, environmental philosophy, environmental ethics, Indigenous knowledge, eco-criticism, eco-poetry and eco-poetics, nature writing, eco-psychology, eco-theology, bioregionalism, political ecology, environmental history, and the theoretical rather than empirical aspects of environmental studies (environmental sociology, environmental anthropology, etc.). The editors especially encourage submissions concerning or inspired by deep ecology, eco-phenomenology, ecofeminism, eco-primitivism, or other forms of ‘radical’ environmentalism.

Peer Review Process

Scholarly research articles are subject to double-blind peer review. In the main, each article receives two reviews. Poetry, narrative pieces, and book reviews are vetted by those sections' editors.

Publication Frequency

As of 2017, The Trumpeter publishes one issue of the journal per year. Our issues are published exclusively online (open-access); hardcopy issues are no longer published.

Journal History

Founded in 1983 by Alan Drengson of the University of Victoria, The Trumpeter is one of the oldest environmental philosophy journals in the world, and Canada’s oldest environmental humanities journal. It carries forth a proud tradition of critically exploring and analysing environmental concerns. Its contributors have included such luminaries as Wes Jackson, Wendell Berry, Warwick Fox, Tom Birch, Gary Snyder, Bill Devall, Dave Foreman, Holmes Rolston, III, Michael Zimmerman, Arne Naess, George Sessions, Dolores LaChapelle, Monika Langer, David Abram, Mary Midgley, Valerius Geist, Neil Evernden, Robyn Eckersley, Freya Matthews, Tom Regan, David Suzuki, Michael Soulé, Jim Cheney, Marti Kheel, Catriona Sandilands, Anthony Weston, and Vandana Shiva.